Volunteer

From Open Source@Seneca

Jump to: navigation, search

Thank you for your interest in volunteering for FSOSS/Linuxfest 2011! The success of this event depends on volunteers like you. As a thank you, your registration fee will be waived (you can attend FSOSS for free), and you will receive a volunteer FSOSS shirt. Take a moment to read the various volunteer jobs available and if you are interested in volunteering, please edit this page as follows:

  1. Pick TWO of the volunteer jobs and add your name to the list under each job description
  2. Make sure you include email contact info
  3. Signup only for jobs that are open

If you have any questions, please contact Catherine Leung or Paulette Hamilton.

The following describes the jobs that we will require volunteers to do. It will specify the date, the time, location, how long it will take, and the maximum number of people we will need for each job. Most volunteer work will be done during the week of the event but some jobs have to be done before hand. If you see something that you are able/interested in helping with, please sign up by adding your name to this page by editing this wiki. NOTE: New jobs will be posted continuously so please check back again. If you need more info on a job or need more info about editing this wiki, please contact cathy at: Catherine Leung or Paulette Hamilton. Please note that you will also be required to attend a training session (approximately 2 hours in length) which will be held a few days before the fsoss event. Volunteers will also receive an attendee SWAG bag.




Contents

Setup/Registration Desk/Greeters- Thursday Morning

  • Date(s): Oct. 27
  • Time: 7:30am to 11:00am
  • Duration: 3.5 hours
  • Max. Volunteers needed: 3 students
  • Description: Setup the registration area. Post signage. Staff the registration tables. Give out bags/badges. Handle sign up for workshops. Check badges as attendees enter workshop rooms. Direct attendees to the workshop rooms.

Signup here (close)

  • Matthew Schranz (mjschranz@learn.senecac.on.ca)
  • Eujin John (jeujin@learn.senecac.on.ca)
  • Stephanie Bourque (sbourqu1@learn.senecac.on.ca)
  • Sydney Collins

Registration Desk- Thursday Afternoon

  • Date(s): Oct. 27
  • Time: 11:30am to 3:00pm
  • Duration: 3.5 hours
  • Max. Volunteers needed: 3 students
  • Description: Staff the registration tables. Give out bags/badges. Handle sign up for workshops. Check badges as attendees enter workshop rooms. Direct attendees to the workshop rooms. Tidy up towards end of workshops.

Signup here (close)

  • Alex Kotliar (akotliar@learn.senecac.on.ca)
  • Manpreet Narang (msnarang@learn.senecac.on.ca)
  • Micael Cunha (mcunha@learn.senecac.on.ca)
  • Rachit Chaudry
  • Sydney Collins (swcollins@learn.senecac.on.ca)

Set Up/Registration Desk/Greeters - Friday Morning

  • Date(s): Oct. 28
  • Time: 7am to 12:00noon
  • Duration: 5 hours
  • Max. Volunteers needed: 9 students; 3 faculty
  • Description: Set up registration area. Post signage throughout campus. Staff the registration tables. Give out bags/badges. Check badges as attendees enter presentation rooms. Direct attendees to the rooms. Escort speakers to rooms. (Students will be assigned to either registration desk at beginning of shift).

Signup here (close)

  • Michelle Mendoza (mamendoza1@learn.senecac.on.ca) - desk
  • Eujin John (jeujin@learn.senecac.on.ca) - desk
  • Carlin Desautels (cwdesautels@learn.senecac.on.ca) - Desk
  • Matthew Schranz (mjschranz@learn.senecac.on.ca) - desk
  • Minh Khoa Nguyen (mknguyen2@learn.senecac.on.ca) - room 2168
  • Stephanie Bourque (sbourqu1@learn.senecac.on.ca) - Door Greeter
  • Sung-Hwan Kim (shkim33@learn.senecac.on.ca) - desk
  • Ching Wei Tseng (cwtseng@learn.senecac.on.ca) - Desk
  • Romero Silva - room 1206
  • Nabeel Mushtaq -floater
  • David Huang (dhuang20@learn.senecac.on.ca)-Desk
  • Priyansh Shah

Registration Desk/Greeters - Friday Afternoon

  • Date(s): Oct. 28
  • Time: 12:30pm to 5:00pm
  • Duration: 4.5 hours
  • Max. Volunteers needed: 4 students; 2 faculty
  • Description: Staff the registration tables. Give out bags/badges. Check badges as attendees enter presentation rooms. Direct attendees to the rooms. Monitor exhibition hall. Escort speakers to rooms. (Students will be assigned to either registration desk or to greeting at beginning of shift).

Signup here (close)

  • Michelle Mendoza (mamendoza1@learn.senecac.on.ca) - room 1206
  • Alex Kotliar (akotliar@learn.senecac.on.ca) - desk
  • Carlin Desautels (cwdesautels@learn.senecac.on.ca) - room
  • Twaseen Khandaker (tkhandaker@learn.senecac.on.ca) - room
  • Matthew Schranz (mjschranz@learn.senecac.on.ca) -room
  • Sung-Hwan Kim (shkim33@learn.senecac.on.ca) - desk
  • Manpreet Narang (msnarang@learn.senecac.on.ca) ** would like to attend first morning session - room for S2169
  • Romero Silva |rcostaalvesdasilva@learn.senecac.on.ca - room
  • Ching Wei Tseng (cwtseng@learn.senecac.on.ca) - floater
  • Priyansh Shah

Registration Desk/Greeters - Saturday Morning

  • Date(s): Oct. 29
  • Time: 8:00am to 1:00pm
  • Duration: 5 hours
  • Max. Volunteers needed: 6 students; 3 faculty
  • Description: Staff the registration tables. Give out bags/badges. Check badges as attendees enter presentation rooms. Direct attendees to the rooms. Monitor exhibition hall. Escort speakers to rooms. (Students will be assigned to either registration desk or to greeting at beginning of shift).

Signup here (close)

  • Greg Krilov (gkrilov@learn.senecac.on.ca) needs to attend 2 sessions for class fri s1206 s2168
  • Archana Sahota (asahota1@learn.senecac.on.ca)s1206needs to attend 2 sessions for class s2168
  • Alexander Davis (aadavis1@learn.senecac.on.ca) - room s1208
  • Hadi Alshakhori (halshakhori@learn.senecac.on.ca) - desk
  • Minh Khoa Nguyen (mknguyen2@learn.senecac.on.ca) - room s2168
  • Kelly Lara (klara@learn.senecac.on.ca) ** would like to attend second morning session - desk
  • Amir Mobasseri **would like to attend second morning sessioin - room 1206
  • David Huang (dhuang@learn.senecac.on.ca) ** would like to see the moz talks
  • Rachit Chaudhary

Greeters/Stand By Helpers - Saturday Afternoon

  • Date(s): Oct. 29
  • Time: 12:30pm-5:00pm
  • Location: On campus
  • Duration: 4.5 hours
  • Max. Volunteers needed: 4 students
  • Description: Staff the registration tables. Give out bags/badges. Check badges as attendees enter presentation rooms. Direct attendees to the rooms. Monitor exhibition hall. Escort speakers to rooms. Take down signage throughout campus. (Students will be assigned to either registration desk or to greeting at beginning of shift).


Signup here (close)

  • Alexander Davis (aadavis1@learn.senecac.on.ca)
  • Adrian Chan (achan102@learn.senecac.on.ca)
  • Amir Mobasseri (ammobasseri@learn.senecac.on.ca)
  • Hadi Alshakhori (halshakhori@learn.senecac.on.ca)
  • Romero Silva rcostaalvesdasilva@learn.senecac.on.ca
  • greg krilov
  • archana sahota----

Photographers

  • Date(s): Oct. 28 and Oct. 29
  • Time: Ongoing
  • Duration: N/A
  • Max. Volunteers needed: 3 students
  • Description: Snap Pictures of attendees and get them posted to a flickr feed as the event is happening. You will need to provide your own camera and laptop to do this job.

Signup here (Closed)


Bag Stuffing/Badge Making

  • Date(s): Monday Oct. 24 (subject to change)
  • Duration: 3 to 4 hours (start time to be confirmed)
  • Max. Volunteers needed: 5 students
  • Description: Put together bags for attendees and speakers. Put badges together.

Signup here (closed)

  • Kelly Lara (klara@learn.senecac.on.ca)
  • Minoo Ziaei (mziaei1@learn.senecac.on.ca)
  • Twaseen Khandaker (tkhandaker@learn.senecac.on.ca)
  • Diogo Golovanevsky Monteiro (dmonteiro3@learn.senecac.on.ca)
  • Simon de Almeida (sdealmeida@learn.senecac.on.ca)
  • Amir Mobasseri (ammobasseri@laern.senecac.on.ca)
  • Nabeel Mushtaq



Video Recording

  • Date(s): Training before event + Friday Oct. 28
  • Time: 8:00am or 12:30pm
  • Duration: All day
  • Max. Volunteers needed: 5
  • Description: Setting up and videoing speakers sessions throughout the day. Volunteers are expected to attend the entire session they are recording

NOTE: this job requires a significant amount of commitment. Volunteers for this job will also receive an invitation to the FSOSS Speaker's dinner. Please indicate whether you are signing up for the morning or afternoon session.

Signup here (close)

  • Bhrugesh Patel [bhrugesh.patel@senecac.on.ca] Morning Session
  • Christian Melo  comelo@learn.senecac.on.ca Morning Session
  • Abdolreza Sakhapour [asakhapour@learn.senecac.on.ca] Afternoon Session
  • Haseeb Ilyas [hilyas@learn.senecac.on.ca] Afternoon Session
  • Sayed Alam [smalam3@learn.senecac.on.ca] Afternoon Session
  • Ben Cook [bwcook1@learn.senecac.on.ca] Afternoon session
  • David Nguyen [dnguyen15@learn.senecac.on.ca] Afternoon session
  • Erik Dokic [edokic@learn.senecac.on.ca] Morning or Afternoon Session
  • Zhen Shao [zshao4@senecac.on.ca] Morning Session
  • David Huang [dhuang20@senecac.on.ca] Morning Session

Video Recording

  • Date(s): Training before event + Saturday Oct. 29
  • Time: 8:00am
  • Duration: All day
  • Max. Volunteers needed: 5
  • Description:

This job involves operating the video equipment to record the speaker sessions throughout the day. Volunteers are expected to attend the entire session they are recording. NOTE: this job requires a significant amount of commitment. Volunteers for this job will also receive an invitation to the FSOSS Speaker's dinner. Please indicate whether you are signing up for the morning or afternoon session.

Signup here (close)

  • Bhrugesh Patel [bhrugesh.patel@senecac.on.ca] Morning Session
  • Christian Melo  comelo@learn.senecac.on.ca Morning or Afternoon Session
  • Sayed Alam [smalam3@learn.senecac.on.ca] Morning Session
  • Hemant Kumar [hkumar8@learn.senecac.on.ca] Afternoon Session
  • Abdolreza Sakhapour [asakhapour@learn.senecac.on.ca] Afternoon Session
  • David Nguyen [dnguyen15@learn.senecac.on.ca] Afternoon Session
  • Erik Dokic [edokic@learn.senecac.on.ca] Morning or Afternoon Session
  • Zhen Shao [zshao4@learn.senecac.on.ca] Morning or Afternoon Session
  • David Huang [dhuang20@learn.senecac.on.ca] Morning or Afternoon Session

Archives

Volunteer - 2010

Personal tools
special sections